Cooking

Yesterday I did my first camera post, today is my first cooking post. 

Nothing very exciting, apple crumble from the Small Batch Baking cookbook. But I documented the cooking with my new camera. 

The filling is apples, butter, honey and cinnamon cooked slightly to thicken. I also added a teeny bit of nutmeg as nutmeg always wins. The topping is flour, sugar, butter, oats and toasted walnuts. 

Mis en place:

 

Mis en place for crumble

Mis en place for crumble

The apples, flour, honey and nuts are all local from the farmer’s market. 

 

Cutting the apples:

 

Peeled apples, ready to be cored and sliced

Peeled apples, ready to be cored and sliced

I core apples with a standard melon baller. Best use of that tool I’ve found. We are out of lemons, but had some citric acid so I tossed the apples in a little of that diluted with a small amount of water. Last time I made this I just chopped the apples and put in the sauce and didn’t add any acid. But a little bit of acid cut the sweet of the honey and made the dish much more balanced. 

 

Making the sauce: 

 

Honey, butter and a small amount of flour to help thicken.

Honey, butter and a small amount of flour to help thicken.

Once the butter is melted and the sauce thickened, I added the sliced apples and cooked briefly.

Meanwhile, I toasted some walnuts and mixed the topping. 

When the apples were done I added them to our little casserole dish (perfect for 2 people) and topped with the topping. 

 

Assembled and ready for the oven.

Assembled and ready for the oven.

Bake for 20 minutes, let cool for ten. Serve with or without ice cream. We had a bottle of Korbel brut rose and a glass of that went very nicely with the apple dessert.

 

Ready for nom

Ready for nom

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

