Free range roast chicken

The beef guy had free range, home grown chickens today at the farmer’s market and we picked up two. One for roasting and one for piecing and … something. Roasted the big one (5 pound) today. Oh. My.

We’ve been eating well, but we haven’t really cooked a dinner recently which leaves both of us feeling a bit off. Tonight fixed that.

Brined the chicken in 1.5 gallons of water, 1 lemon, pepper corns, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of salt and some dried sage for 5 hours or so. Rinsed and dried, salted the outside, shoved the 2 lemon halves and some garlic inside. Roasted to an internal temp of 179 – 185. (This is the part where Steve points out I wrote that entire paragraph in passive voice and wow is my history as a scientist showing again.)

I made a gravy by deglazing the roasting pan with a few tablespoons of marsala and adding that to a roux with the drippings and some chicken stock. Steve had first used to stock to simmer the potatoes. One of the best gravies I’ve done, between the really good drippings and the stock infused with garlic, onions and garlic.

We did pick up some asparagus at the farmer’s market today, but decided to go with frozen peas and corn as the vegetable component of the meal. We drank a Semonnay (a blend of 55% Chardonnay and 45% Semillon) from Fenestra Winery.

It wasn’t quite a completely local meal since the peas and corn were frozen and we used a mix of my chicken stock and carton stock. Of course, it’s easy to be a mostly-localvore around here.

There is a part of me that wishes I had the time, energy and space to grow/raise my own food. Given I have none of the above, I am incredibly grateful for the people who do and who sell their wonderful products to me.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

One response to “Free range roast chicken

  1. yetanotherfoodpr0nblog

    yum!

Leave a Reply

