Happy Christmas

I’ve been remiss in touching this blog this holiday season. We made it safely to DC, on a rather uneventful flight. The last few days have been spent in a whirlwind of family visits. Cousins, other cousins, 2nd cousins, 4th cousins thrice removed. It was good to see people, some of whom I haven’t seen in 20 years or so.

Yesterday the parents left for Florida and we lazed around the house, soaked in the hot tub and slept.

Today we went into the city and wandered through some of the museums. We visited a couple of the Smithsonian’s around the mall, including American History. It’s very new and shiny, but I’m not convinced it’s an improvement over the old one. They took away the pendulum?!!

Overall it’s been a decent trip, although I managed to pick up a stomach bug at some point (I’m guessing on the trip here). I’ve been fighting it, but Monday it really just dropped me and I spent the whole day curled up on the couch like a lump. Discovery was running the Mythbusters Marathon so I slept through or watched something like 12 hours of Mythbusters. Hey! EXPLOSIONS!

Christmas was fun. Everyone loved their gifts. Mom wore the locket we gave her to every family gathering and proudly showed it off. Dad really appreciated his briefcase and was heartily entertained by the noisy, lighty-up ape keychain I gave him. My brother gave us all snuggies, which was amusing. He also gave Steve and I a set of glass serving dishes that are stunningly beautiful. Steve gave me my gift before we left: a cat cam with motion detection recording pointed at the food bowls. This means I can do kitty nose count and make sure all the cats are OK. I really means I don’t need to worry about them, and it’s been amusing to watch what they do when we’re not there. He’s so very good to me.

Tomorrow we’re going to head out for breakfast / brunch (assuming that the snow / freezing rain forecast isn’t true), then come home and drink champagne and eat fondue and soak in the hot tub. Then more touristy stuff. Sadly, it’s just too freaking cold to go to the Zoo. It was bad enough going from the Metro to the various museums today. And I don’t think it’s just we’re Californian’s now, I think it’s actually cold.

If I don’t get around to blogging again tomorrow, happy new year to all. May 2010 bring you health and happiness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Trips

Leave a Reply

