Pork chops

Today we hit the grocery store to buy meat to make a bolognese tomorrow. We needed pork for the sauce, and were planning on grinding our own anyway so we took advantage of the sale on pork roasts.

I cut one of the loins into chops for dinner. I pulled out the big book of pork to find something nice to do with it. We settled on the mustard rub with basic pan sauce.

The rub was easy:
.5 tsp each dry thyme, rosemary and sage.
1 tsp dried mustard powder (we use Colemans)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sweet paprika
1 tsp ground pepper

mix and rub on chops. Let sit for about an hour.

Pan sear the chops in oil (I used canola ’cause I wasn’t sure of the flavor profile of the rub and wanted something neutral).

When the chops were finished, I pulled them out to rest and started on the sauce. Sweat 1/4 cup of finely chopped onions in the oil in the pan. After the onions are soft, I dumped in 1/4 cup of chicken stock (I’m out of pork stock at the moment so I had to settle for chicken). I used the stock as a deglazing liquid to scrape up all the fond off the bottom of the pan. Once the bottom was clean, I brought it up to the boil and reduced it by half.

After the stock was reduced I flavored it with a bit of Worcestershire sauce (2 or 3 shakes). I thickened with a little bit of cornstarch in water and then added 1.5 – 2 tablespoons of butter to finish. The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of cream, but we don’t have any at the moment, and, hey, what is butter except really concentrated cream?

The rub seasoned the sauce well, and I didn’t need to add salt or pepper to finish.

I steamed some fresh green beans and buttered my cooked noodles and served.

It was an incredibly satisfying meal. A good mix of flavors in the rub. And the pork and pan sauce carried enough flavors that there wasn’t any need for a complicated starch prep or veggie prep. It would go well, too, with mashed potatoes, I think. But I really like egg noodles. Egg noodles covered in pan gravy are really good, too.

Tomorrow: Ragu, starting with grinding the pork.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

