Chili

… or more like a twist on a beef stew.

  • 1 lb mexican style sausage
  • 2 (or so) pounds beef stew meat
  • 2 passila peppers roughly chopped
  • 2 medium onions roughly chopped
  • 4 or 5 cloves garlic roughly chopped
  • 1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes (Muir Glen fire roasted)
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 bottle dark mexican beer

I pulled the casing off the sausage and cooked it over low heat in our big casserole dish until it was cooked and the fat had rendered out. Then I set that aside while I browned the beef. Once the beef was brown, I pulled it out from the pot. Then the peppers, onions and garlic went into the pot and softened over low heat.

I deglazed the pan with the beer, then added all the meat back in. Then I added the tomatoes and tomato paste. I seasoned with some ground cumin and simmered for about an hour and a half. Then I tasted for seasoning (needed a little salt) and served with corn chips, grated cheese and chopped scallions.

A yummy dinner. And lots of leftovers for quick dinners in the future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

