11 years and counting

“Do you think the sign of an old married couple is that we can’t remember exactly what day our anniversary is?”

“Well, we’re sure it’s July 30 or 31. I think that’s close enough.”

“How long have we been married?”

“Eleven years.”

“Well, at least we agree on that.”

<pause> <watch the salt marsh go by>

“No, I’m right, and I can prove it. My mom called today and wished us a happy anniversary. She’d know.”

“hrm. Yeah. OK.” <pause> “You realize that I can just have my mom call tomorrow, wish us a happy anniversary and then we’re even.”

Happy Anniversary, my love. Being married to you is the best thing that ever happened to me. I love you more and more every day. You’ve supported me and challenged me. My life is so much better for you being in it.

marriage is a promise that unfolds over time. Life goes on much as it has before, but in a good marriage ones hand is strengthened, ones way is brightened and ones burdens are lightened.

For what greater thing is there for two human souls than to share with each other in all gladness and to be with each other in the silent unspeakable memories.

Yeah. That.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

