Chili Vodka

I’ve been interested in making infused liquors for a while, but it’s been at the bottom of the todo list. A few weeks ago, though, I found some nice bottles at Ikea and picked up funnels. For some reason acquiring the tools is part of the hardest bits of a new project for me. But, tools now acquired I decided to start easy with chili vodka. 3 dried arbol chilis, half a liter of vodka, mix and leave in the cupboard for a few weeks.

I strained it out and bottled it a few weeks ago. I did a quick taste and it was interesting. Almost medicinally sweet with a kick at the end. Today I actually tasted a whole sip and wow, it’s got a significant kick. We used it as an addition to bloody marys and they’re really good. The tomato does well with the sweetness and there is a pleasant warmth at the end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

