Squicky behaviour

Recently I had more than a few folks respond to my emails with, “Call me! We’ll talk.” In a fit of frustration after receiving yet another one of these, I tweeted about how folks in the email industry (all of them were) seem utterly incapable of using email to communicate.

This tweet caught the eye of someone in the email industry, who took it upon himself to instruct me that phone is so much better than email and a bunch of other stuff. It pissed me off for a number of reasons. It turned into this stupid slap fight where he kept trying to convince me how superior phone was to email. Then it started getting really weird. He said “Guess I’m just beating a dead horse with you. A Christmas card will do then if you will not call.”

That really turned my stomach and freaked me out a bit. Not only was he completely ignoring my point of view, but then he says something that is more like what an ex-boyfriend turned stalker would say. Or that pouty asshole at the bar. In any case it’s really set me on edge. I certainly don’t expect that kind of thing from someone I only know in a professional context.

Yeah, I know. How frail and weakly woman of me to read a threat into that statement. He didn’t mean it that way. I’m just reading too much into it. He really isn’t trying to put me in my place. It wasn’t an exercise in dominance. It wasn’t an attempt to remind me that it is unwomanly to have an opinion. And that if a man demands I call him of *course* I am expected to call him. How dare I do otherwise. What, do I think I have any value as a person or something?

It really creeped me out, whether he consciously intended it that way or not.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Squicky behaviour

  1. Oh I don’t know. I don’t think you are reading it wrong, personally I think it is a little creepy as well. But then again in my view e-mail is the best way to contact me.

  2. hm

    Just reading your blog for the first time and thought I would chime in with I prefer email as well, and yeah, that guy seemed kind of weird.

Leave a Reply

