Sanity, Ho!

Today was the Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear in DC. There were mini-rallies elsewhere, and since we couldn’t make it back to DC for the big rally, we went up to the SF offshoot. It was relatively small, maybe 500 people, but it was early on a Saturday and raining so a small crowd wasn’t unexpected.

I uploaded a bunch of pictures to my Flickr stream.

Some of my favorites:
Not hitler

Point of view

And, my favorite: THREAT DOWN: EELS!
EELS!

During Jon Stewart’s closing speech he talked about why people were there. And I have to wonder why I was up in the middle of a drizzle to watch something I could see in my own living room. Dry. With cats.

I went not just to be part of something, but also to join with all the other people out there who are tired of the polarization and the stupidity. Who are tired of the loudmouth angry people getting to drive the agenda. I don’t believe the tea party represents the majority, but they certainly get the majority of the screen time. I wanted to be counted as someone who wants government to work for us. I wanted to be counted as someone who is pretty sure government can work for us. I wanted to be counted as one of the sane.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home, Life

Leave a Reply

