Travel, travel and more travel

June was a total blur. A week in SF at MAAWG, then home for a week then off to Rehoboth Beach with family. We got home Sunday and are trying to recover, catch up and do all the billions of things we haven’t gotten done in the last 3 weeks.

It’s been quite a whirlwind.

MAAWG was good, really good. I did a rather long post about it on the work blog, but I’m really glad that we stuck with the organization through its many growing pains. I think it’s finally figured out what it wants to be when it grows up and has made a lot of strides getting there.

I did spend much of the conference feeling my age, both in terms of my actual age and how long I’ve been in the industry and a MAAWG member. It was strange, but good.

The beach was interesting. It was great to spend time with family. This is the first time my cousin Karen and I have really gotten to spend together since we were kids and it was nice. Her husband and girls are awesome, as of course they would be.

Steve and I cooked one evening. We did a “classic” California style dinner by hitting the farmer’s market and buying lots of fresh foods and building a meal around that. Grilled chicken, squash salad, stuffed mushrooms, cucumbers in vinegar, and some spreads on fresh bread.  We finished up with the strawberry shortcake recipe I talked about a few weeks ago. All very yummy.

It was a bit of an eye opening experience, too. I came to some realizations and conclusions about life, the universe and everything. They’re not all comforting, but they are what is, so I just have to deal. I even wrote them down so I can go back and look at them when I’m uncomfortable with, y’know, stuff.

I did get one day to go out on a photo walk and have some nice shots I need to process and upload. The walks were curtailed, though, after I got these massive blisters on the bottoms of my feet. They were really painful. REALLY painful. Draining them helped but it took a good 5 days before I could walk without pain. Bad shoes.

Trying to catch up with work has been a challenge. My brain is going 40 miles a minute and I am struggling to focus. But I’m working through stuff and getting things accomplished, even if it’s not exactly efficient.

Dinner tonight is curry and fresh naan. The house is smelling quite yummy at the moment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

