6 weeks?

It has been a while since I’ve posted. No excuses or justifications, it’s just been busy and I’ve not been able to focus enough to put more than a few sentences down. That means I’m more likely to post to twitter or FB, not here.

The weather has finally changed here. Finally had to turn the heat on a few days ago. I’ve started looking for long sleeved clothing, too.

The good bit about the weather change is soup and warm bread. Yum.

I did a really good sausage and bean soup a few days ago. We’ve started getting greens in the veggie box, and had leftover collards and bacon. I was thinking about what to do with them, and thought soup.

I first made a broth out of some smoked pork necks we had in the freezer. I simmered the necks, a pair of carrots, half an onion and a stalk of celery in water for a few hours. Then I tossed all the solids, skimmed the fat and used that as the liquid for the sausage soup.

The soup came together easily. I cooked up 2 hot italian sausages after removing them from their casings. Once the sausage was cooked, I added 2 1/2 – 3 cups of diced onions, one stalked of diced celery and 2 sliced carrots. I let the vegetables soften in the sausage fat until they were translucent. Then I added a handful of oregano, some salt and pepper and maybe some other seasonings. Then I poured on the ham stock and a can of black beans and let it all simmer. About 20 minutes before eating, I dumped in the leftover greens and the remaining pot liquor.

We ate it for 2 nights and I finished off the last little bit yesterday. It was one of my better soups, if I do say so myself. We’re definitely making both the collards and the soup again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

