Warm bacon and blue cheese potato salad

Dinner tonight was another of our “what do we have available” meals. The answer to the question was: swiss chard, bacon, baby potatoes. It was pretty good.

I halved a bunch of baby potatoes, covered them in olive oil, salt and herbs and roasted at 350 for an hour and a half or so. While they were roasting I cut about 6  ounces of bacon into lardons and cooked them slowly until crispy. When the bacon was done, I removed it from the skillet and poured off most of the bacon fat. Then I added a chopped onion and a few minced cloves of garlic.

The onions were cooked over medium heat until they were translucent, then I added back the bacon and scraped in the roasted potatoes. I let everything cook for a couple minutes until the flavors were starting to meld.

To serve I topped it with some crumbled blue cheese, which melted into the warm salad and made a creamy, salty sauce for it.

I served with some braised swiss chard. It wasn’t anything too special, just 1/2 a red onion sautéed in olive oil until soft. I added chopped garlic and some red chili flakes about half way through. Then I added a pound or so of swiss chard, well washed and chopped. I sautéed everything for about 2 minutes, then added a cup or so of apple juice and a little water. I let everything simmer for 20 minutes or so. Then I added about 1/4 cup of cider vinegar, a little sugar and a pinch of salt. I kept cooking for another 5 minutes or so. I served the greens with a splash of sherry vinegar at the table.

All in all it was a very, very successful meal. There was a bit of heat in the greens and the vinegar cut the fat from the potato hash. We both cleaned our plates. I should have made more.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

