Vegetable (not vegetarian) pot pie

A very easy vegetable pot pie using leftovers and random vegetables. This would be easy enough to make vegetarian, but I was using what we had around. We had leftover roast chicken so I made a stock with the chicken bits and some bay. And I had some bacon fat around from breakfast this morning.

Vegetable prep: Cut potatoes and carrots into bit sized pieces. I used purple fingerlings and baby carrots because that’s just what we had on hand. I coated them in olive oil and salt and roasted for an hour and a half or so.

I then diced some celery and red onion and softened them in bacon fat. When they were starting to color I added a bunch of thickly sliced mushrooms. I let everything cook over medium heat until the mushrooms were starting to brown. Then I deglazed the pan with some marsala.

After the marsala fully evaporated, I made a roux with some flour. When the roux was cooked, I added about 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock, the roasted carrots and potatoes, some random herbs and some salt. I let it simmer for 10 minutes or so, then seasoned with salt, pepper and a little more marsala.

I covered the filling with pastry and baked it off.

Very, very tasty.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

