5K Training: 4th week

Last week was week 3 of the C25K program. A commenter on CoolRunning says “most people drop out between week 3 and 4 and I don’t understand why.”  I know why. It’s because that’s when things get hard.

Last week was pretty hard and frustrating. I spent a lot of it running slower and for less time while not seeing the major improvements in endurance and fitness from week 1 and 2. I was also feeling really tired. That deep muscle tired that sleeping or resting doesn’t fix.

On top of that, our Saturday group run was 1.5 miles + hills. It was a challenge. Timed intervals went totally out the window and instead I ran until “OMG, I have to stop” and walked until “well, kinda caught my breath, run again.”

I was, predictably, a tired on Sunday, but not overly sore. Sunday I did a 40 minute walk around the park. Surprisingly, that really kicked my butt.  Monday I woke up pretty sore, particularly my right quads/knee and my left ankle. Really sore. Like hobbling around sore.

I was not looking forward to Monday’s group run just because I was so stiff and sore. And discouraged.

But, I went and we ran the same 1.4 mile course we did last week and it wasn’t bad. In fact, it was pretty good. Better than good, I could have gone longer. Afterwards we did some trigger point massage that relieved a lot of the soreness I’d walked in with.

Today is a rest day, and I did take advantage of that. Tomorrow is a 1.25 scheduled run. I’ll probably do more than that, just because I’m stubborn like that. And I didn’t make goal mileage last week (only 9.6 out of 10 I wanted to – I was going to do that last .4 of a mile after the hills, but… uh … no) so I’m going to make goal this week.

The race this training was supposed to prep us for is being moved. So maybe no race? I dunno. I’ll just be happy if I can run a full 5K by mid August.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

