5K Training: week something

The training is going along OK. I feel like I’m not making progress fast enough right now, which is kinda discouraging. I can’t figure out if this is just “need to slog it out” or “not cut out to run, just accept your current fitness level.”

I’ll probably keep slogging, but the idea of running a 5K by the end of August seems insurmountable. I just don’t have the endurance and I don’t feel like I’m developing that. Even my strength training is getting harder not easier. I’m telling myself that the strength is harder because I’m stronger so I’m using the muscle groups better and therefore it feels harder. I don’t know how true that actually is, but it’s what I’m telling myself.

I have done a couple runs with no walking, which is progress. And my heart rate is getting better. Wednesday’s run I felt OK cardio wise, but my legs were really tired and I just didn’t have the muscle endurance to keep going. Early on it seemed the improvements were happening so fast and now that improvement has slowed down.

I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished. I will keep up the routine I’ve established because it’s making me feel good but I dunno if I’m ever going to be able to run a 5K.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

