Race Day

Sunday is my first 5K.

I’m weirdly ambivalent about it. I can run 5K, without too much struggle. But I run it SLOW. No, slower than that.

Monday’s group run was good. I kept my splits more consistent than in the past — where mile one was 2 minutes faster than mile 2. Monday there was less than a minute between the different miles. My heart rate was higher than I liked, but I’ve just accepted that my heart rate is going to be high and only time is going to change that (or time isn’t gong to change it, and this is the root of my non-athleticism).

After the run new members of the group asked me if I was excited about racing. And, really… no. I’m not going to win, I’m pretty sure I’m not even going to meet the speed I’d like to race. Sub 30 minutes isn’t going to happen. Sub-40 may not even happen (although, training runs suggest that 38 is an achievable goal).

So, yeah, I’m ambivalent about the race. I don’t know if I want to do it. I’m going to, because it seems to be the right cap on the summer of training I’ve done. But, I’m not sure I want to. Makes no sense. But that’s what it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

