Winter soup

October was so busy I didn't even keep up with the work blog. But I got home from Baltimore yesterday (woohoo, missed snowcane) and that's my last big commitment for the month.

It was a reasonable trip except for the whole flight thing. United was a fustercluck and a half. I gorged myself on crab and east coast seafood. But I'm glad to be home in celebration I'm making fridge soup.

Ingredients

  • Bacon fat
  • Onions
  • Celery
  • Carrots
  • Spanish sausage
  • Ham stock
  • Garlic
  • Beans (canned in this case)
  • Hot paprika, chili arbol powder, cumin, oregano
  • Random greens (Dino kale in this case)

I softened the aromatics in the bacon fat, then added cumin, oregano and the chili arbol powder. Let all of that cook, then added the sausage. Once the veggies were soft and the sausage cooked, I added a can of rinsed kidney beans and enough stock to cover everything. Then a bit of the hot paprika and a small amount of ham left over from the stock making. Yeah, it was homemade stock.

I let it all simmer for 30 minutes or so, then added some kale. This is what it looked like.

I'll let the kale cook for 30 minutes or so then serve with some bread. I'm tempted to top it with some queso anjeho, too.

EDIT: oh, yeah, we had some mushrooms so I dumped those in as well.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

