Random chicken noodle soup

It’s been a stressful few days here. It seems a dozen email marketers have figured out their email marketing is broken and so the sales line has been ringing off the hook. I’ve landed more clients this week than in the last 2 months. Add to that Steve has something viral and is feeling like crap. I’ve got part of it and am fighting headaches and a sore throat. Oh, and I forgot about a talk I’m supposed to be giving tomorrow.

Lots of fun around here.

I couldn’t figure out what to make for dinner, but in going through the freezer I found a pot of frozen chicken shreds. If I remember right this was shreds off a roast a few months ago that I didn’t have anything to do with at the time, but couldn’t actually throw out. I also found some chicken stock and 3 oz of frozen pasta dough.

HEY! What’s the best thing to eat when you’re sick? CHICKEN SOUP!

Last night I cooked up some pancetta for cauliflower cheese and had a lot of pancetta fat left over. I melted the fat in our dutch oven and then added a couple handfuls of quartered mushrooms. I let the mushrooms cook over high-ish heat for 3 or 4 minutes. Then I added a diced medium onion, 2 diced celery sticks and some sliced carrots. I let everything soften in the pancetta fat until it was cooked enough. I also added about a tablespoon of diced garlic and some fresh thyme.

I added the thawed chicken, 3 cups of homemade stock and a carton of Pacific stock. I brought everything to a boil, then added some salt and pepper and let it simmer.

While it was simmering, I rolled out the pasta dough and cut it into 1/2 inch strips. I cooked the pasta in some chicken bullion.

To serve, I portioned up the cooked noodles in soup bowls and then covered with the chicken soup.

It was the kind of soup you’d get from a diner called “Mom’s” and it’s just what I wanted this evening. Not a bad use of leftovers and random freezer bits. Nothing sophisticated, just good comfort food.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

One response to “Random chicken noodle soup

  1. alsohuey

    That sounds epic.

    …why do you not live closer?

Leave a Reply

