Refrigerator Chopped!

This is another one of those “what do we have in the fridge that needs using up?” dinners. Otherwise known as “Refrigerator Chopped!”

The ingredients in the basket: leeks, fresh spinach, farmer’s cheese and egg roll wrappers

First off, I made a marinara. 1 onion, 3 cloves of garlic, 1 carrot, 1 stalk of celery whizzed in the food processor. I softened all of that in 1/4 cup (or so) of olive oil. Then I added minced fresh parsley (about 2 tablespoons), and a 1/2 cup of white wine. Then a little cumin, some dried oregano and basil. A 28oz can of crushed fire roasted tomatoes and left it at a simmer while I made the pasta.

For the pasta filling I chopped 2 leeks and 6 cloves of garlic. I softened the garlic and leeks in 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Once they were cooked through, I added most of a bunch of spinach. I cooked it until the spinach was softened and it was all looking like a ravioli filing. I left the filling to cool while I grated 3 or so ounces of “farmers cheese.” At least that’s what it was labeled at the store, it was very much like mozzarella.

When the leek and spinach mix was cool, I mixed it with the cheese. I then made ravioli using the egg roll wrappers.

The ravioli were surprisingly easy. I took a wrapper and covered it with an egg wash. Then I added a 1/2 tablespoon or so of the filling to each quadrant. I covered it with another sheet of egg roll wrapper and sealed the two wrappers together. I used a fluted biscuit cutter to cut out rounds.

I boiled the raviolis in salted water until they floated, then mixed them with the marinara and served.

They were really good. I kinda figured they’d be edible and dinner, but they were quite tasty. Most of the ravioli recipes I found involved ricotta cheese, but a) I didn’t have any and b) I don’t really like cheese bomb ravioli. These worked well with the farmer’s cheese, which gave a bit of fat and gooey to the filling but left it still tasting of vegetables.

And, hey, I actually made something truly vegetarian. I didn’t even use bacon fat or chicken stock.

It was extremely tasty dinner. I’m so pleased at how it turned out given I just made it all up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

