Another day, another shooting

I don’t really have words right now. Like many people I am shocked and heartbroken about the shooting in CT today. All those little kids just … gone. The VA Tech shootings were hard for me, because I spent 4 years of my life on that campus. But this, somehow, seems much, much worse. I saw someone comment that the empty classroom would follow students through their school years, and yeah, it will.

Many of the folks on my friends list posted a West Wing clip.

…The streets of heaven are too crowded with angels tonight. They’re our students and our teachers and our parents and our friends. The streets of heaven are too crowded with angels, but every time we think we have measured our capacity to meet a challenge, we look up and we’re reminded that that capacity may well be limitless. This is a time for American heroes. We will do what is hard. We will achieve what is great. This is a time for American heroes and we reach for the stars. God bless their memory, God bless you, and God bless the United States of America.

I also wish that we, as a nation, could have a conversation about gun control. I wish we could talk about why these tragedies happen. I wish we could have a discussion about the problem. I wish we could talk about it. Despite what Pres. Bartlett said above, we apparently can’t meet the challenge. We may not be able to do what is hard.

Because today is too soon. And tomorrow is too soon. And next week will be too late. And then we’ll have another shooting. And then it will be too soon. And then it will be too late.

Are we really so incapable of meeting the challenge of mass shootings?

There are too many angels in heaven tonight. There are too many empty beds and empty arms. And I have no faith that this will not happen over and over and over again. And we can’t even have a conversation about guns.

Here’s where I feel like I have to put in a disclaimer because otherwise people are going to go nucking futz trying to paint me as an anti-gun person. I’m not anti-gun. I’m not sure regulation or gun control is a solution. It’s very possible it won’t be. But we can’t even discuss it, and that makes me sad.

Why can’t we discuss it? What is wrong with having the conversation?

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Random Thoughts

One response to “Another day, another shooting

  1. Karen B

    I believe that the solution requires loving the unlovable and needy enough to do something about their situations before they become desperate enough to forgot that life has value, and that has nothing to do with guns. It’s easier for us to look at regulating the weapon rather than helping the person using it. Gun control is the easier topic and even that one is hard.

Leave a Reply

