Need to blog about chicken empanadas

I made chicken empanadas this evening. They were yummy, yummy, yummy. I need to record what I did, but my typing is … poor. Here’s the short version, mostly to remind me tomorrow.

Chicken poached in water with garlic cloves, a bay leaf and some chipotle. Shredded and added to sautéd onions and jalapeños with a little mexican tomato sauce.

Empanada dough made of 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of masa harina, 1.5 sticks of butter pulsed in the food processor. The liquid was 1/4 cup of vodka, 3/4 cup of cold water. Chill for 30 minutes (at least).

Treat it as dough, keep it cold and re-chill frequently.

Roll the dough to 1/4 or so inch thickness, and cut with the largest biscuit cutter I have.

Take the dough rounds and then roll even thinner. Add 1 tablespoon (0r so) of the filling to the center of the dough. Fold over and crimp the edges.  Chill in the fridge while the oven warms up.

Bake at 400 (with the convection fan on) for 30 minutes.

Really yummy. Seriously. I made 10 and we ate all of them. The filling was just moist enough and the dough had a toothy crunch from the corn.

I have about a third of the dough left. Teh intarwebs tell me that I can freeze it. I may also use it as substrate for mincemeat  empanada’s (or pies).

I didn’t use a recipe. I did a lot of searches for chicken empanada’s and kinda faked it from what I read. The dough was mostly the recipe from See Kate Cook, but I only had 1/4 cup of vodka. If I’d had more vodka, I’d have used the full half cup. The filling was basically what sounded good.

They were yummy.

But I am a bad food blogger, I don’t take nearly enough pictures while I’m cooking. But I’m busy cooking!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

