Spinach and fennel salad with orange

Salad for 2:

  • 1/2 bulb of fennel thinly sliced (about 1 cup)
  • 2 seville or mandarin oranges, peeled and thinly sliced into rounds
  • about 1/3 cup thinly sliced red onion
  • 1/2 bunch fresh spinach leaves
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • squeeze of lime

Toss the orange, fennel, red onion and spinach in a large bowl. Smash the orange a bit to release a little juice. Dress with a squeeze of lime and some olive oil. Season with salt and pepper.

Most of the recipes I found online used arugula as the greens, but we didn’t have any. We did, however, have spinach from the CSA box, so I decided to use that. It was quite a tasty salad, all in all. I am always a bit leery of fennel, because I’m not a huge fan of licorice. But in this salad with the sweet orange and tangy olive oil the licorice flavor was really good.

We served the salad with a honey mustard glazed salmon, based on a Bobby Flay recipe. We are tragically low on ginger around here, so I used a 1/2 tablespoon of ginger preserves, a teaspoon of fresh ginger (all we had in the house). I cut the honey in half because the ginger preserves are pretty sweet.

I broiled the fish for 4 minutes, skin side up. That was a little too long, I forget how powerful our broiler is. The skin was a bit overdone. 3 minutes would probably have been sufficient. Anyway, it was just the skin, so I flipped the fish and glazed it with some of the mustard mixture. I broiled the other side for 3 minutes. Then I turned the oven to 400 and left the fish in the oven to an internal temperature of 135 or so.

For starch I cooked up the rest of the naan dough from our curry the other night.

All in all, a very tasty dinner.

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food

2 responses to “Spinach and fennel salad with orange

  1. Spinach is the perfect accompaniment to fennel. Yum!

  2. Pingback: Fennel and apple salad | cats, cooks and cameras

Leave a Reply

