Fennel and apple salad

I had half a fennel bulb left from the spinach and fennel salad. I would have happily made that again, but thought something different might be nice, too. How about apple and fennel salad based on this recipe.

  • 1/2 bulb of fennel, sliced very thin
  • 1/2 cup of shaved red onion
  • 3 stalks shaved celery
  • 1 apple, julienned
  • 1 tablespoon (ish) mayo
  • 1 tablespoon (ish) olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon (ish) apple cider vinegar
  • squeeze of lemon
  • salt and pepper

Mix mayo, vinegar and olive oil in a bowl. Add sliced veggies and toss to combine. Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve with lemon wedges to add as needed.

Next time I’ll probably add some toasted nuts to the salad. It needed something, but neither of us could quite identify what.

We had the salad with the last of our Christmas smoked salmon, cheese and heavy brown bread. A fairly simple dinner, but tasty.

Overall, I’m pleased with what I did with the fennel. That doesn’t mean I’m going to add it to my list of vegetables that I keep stocked in the house. But I’m no longer going to look at one arriving in the CSA box and think “WTF am I going to do with this?” Tasty salads are a great thing to do with the fennel.

Tonight, we’re out to friends for the New  Year. May your 2013 be all that you want and more than you hope for.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

