Shrimp with pasta, my style

I’m on my own for dinner tonight, so I took the opportunity to make me some shrimp. I started with a scampi recipe, but half way through realized I’d been too efficient this afternoon and threw out our one lemon (it wasn’t bad, it was just zested a few days ago) during my kitchen clean earlier.

Roughly based on Bobby Flay’s grilled scampi.

  • 1/4 cup of canola oil
  • 1 dried arbol chili
  • 8 garlic cloves

Were all pureed in the food processor to make a paste. I added a pound (ish) of peeled and de-veined shrimp and let it sit at room temp for 30 minutes or so. (The ish is the 2 shrimp I poached separately for Grover because he is an incredibly spoiled cat)

Meanwhile, I chopped a cup or so of napa cabbage, some chinese chives and prepped some linguini.

When the pasta was almost cooked, I cooked the shrimp in our cast iron skillet. After about a minute I added the thick bits of the napa cabbage and continued to sauté it until the shrimp was mostly cooked through. I pulled the shrimp and cabbage out of the pan.

I added some butter (probably more than I should of, but oh well…) to the pan. When that was melted I added about a cup of white wine (chardonnay because that’s what is in the fridge) and deglazed the pan. I dropped the shrimp and cabbage back into the pan, added the tender bit of the napa cabbage and the pasta. I finished with a little more butter.

I dumped it into a bowl and topped it with the chinese chives. I served it with a glass of the chardonnay.

photo-5

I under-seasoned the shrimp, and it would have REALLY benefitted from some lemon juice. But, over all it was quite tasty. And, hey, shrimp!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

