Strawberry rhubarb jam

When we got the call that necessitated our trip, I had about 2 pounds of very fresh strawberries in the fridge. Not only that, I didn’t have time to cancel our veggie box, so I had fresh rhubarb in the fridge. Instead of tossing out the berries and vegetables, I decided to do some quick preserving.

Most of the recipes I found for strawberry (and strawberry rhubarb) jam suggested that pectin was a vital ingredient. I had the pectin, I didn’t quite have enough sugar, though. This made a bit of a loose jam, but it’s quite tasty.

6 1/2 cups sliced strawberries
3 sliced rhubarb stalks

Put in large pot over medium heat to start to soften. Add 3 oz of fruit pectin and cook. Add 5 1/2 or 6 cups of sugar and cook until thick.

Because I was just doing this as a last minute thing before we left, I didn’t do any real preserving. I just dumped the hot jam into clean jars, let them cool over night and then stored them in the fridge.

When we got back, I tried some of it. Very tasty on toast. It’s loose enough to use as an ice cream topping, but has enough structure to work as jam.

Overall, I’m pleased with my attempts at jam so far. These are not picture-perfect foods, but they’re quite tasty and I think the only way to get better is to practice. I think we’ll enjoy this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

