Tomato and cucumber salad

Cucumber salad is a bit of a staple around here. Sliced cucumbers (I like the persian ones these days, but English work as well) and some vinegar. If I’m feeling lazy, I’ll just throw some seasoned rice wine vinegar on them. If I’m feeling fancy, I will thinly slice some red onions (or shallots) and use cider vinegar and a little sugar, or sometimes some sherry and herbed white vinegar. Or any other mix of the half dozen vinegars we keep in stock. Sometimes I add other veggies, usually tomatoes or some corn.

It’s summer now, and the little tomatoes are starting to get good. I made a tomato and cucumber salad this evening that I’m going to finish even as I’m kinda full.

1 persian cucumber sliced thinly
1 handful of cherry and grape tomatoes halved or quartered
half a small red onion, sliced thinly
salt
sherry vinegar (about 2 tablespoons)
white wine vinegar (about 2 teaspoons)

Mix all the ingredients everything together in a bowl. Serve.

It’s so simple, so versatile and so tasty. One of my favorite side dishes, particularly in the summer when it’s warm and the veggies are good. In fact, we bought the cucumbers at the farmer’s market 2 miles from here, and they were grown less than a half mile from here. The tomatoes and onion came from the same farmer’s market, but they’re grown a little further from here.

If I get my stuff together I’ll roast the corn and make corn, tomato and cucumber salad later this week. But it’s just been so hot here, I can’t face the grill and being outside.

It’s summer and I’m so happy to have tasty summer food.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

One response to “Tomato and cucumber salad

  1. Yum, I love salad season. I made a tomato and red onion and mozzarella salad yesterday.

Leave a Reply

