Smokey Salmon Chowder

We pulled out the smoker a few weeks ago to make some pork shoulder (which was tasty, but we need to work out some better temperature control). I also smoked some fingerling potatoes. We weren’t sure what we were going to do with them but figured we could make potato salad or something.

After tasting the potatoes, I decided they’d be a great ingredient for chowder.

4 to 5 oz hot smoked salmon
1/2 onion, diced fine
1 carrot, peeled and diced fine
1/4 cup diced celery
5 – 8 cloves diced garlic
4 strips bacon, diced
1 1/2 cups smoked potato pieces (I had sliced fingerlings, cubes would be fine)
1/4 cup Lillet
2 cups fish stock (I cheated and used Knor fish bullion cubes)

Cook the bacon, rendering out the fat. When the bacon bits are crispy, pull them aside and hide them so you don’t eat them while cooking the soup (or is that just me?).

Add the onions, garlic, carrots and celery to the fat in the pan. Sweat until they’re softened and translucent. Deglaze pan with Lillet. Add stock and potatoes to the pan. Bring to a simmer and let the flavors meld for 20 – 30 minutes.

Flake the salmon and add it to the pot. Simmer very gently for 10 – 15 minutes.

Add cream to taste, top with whatever bacon bits are left and serve with garlic toast.

I was quite astonished how tasty this soup was. I kinda made it up just from what we had in the house. But it was flavorful and filling and well balanced. Good smokey taste, and a great fish taste. It was my first go with this set of ingredients and I don’t think I’d change much, quite honestly.

Maybe next time I’ll remember to take pictures of my cooking. I’ve been bad about that lately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

