Cauliflower cheese

Comfort food again.

  • 1/2 head of cauliflower, broken into florets and steamed.
  • 1 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 1 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp mustard powder, bloomed in water
  • 1 1/4 cup of 2% milk
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup of heavy cream
  • 2 cups (ish) of grated cheese. I used cheddar and smoked mozzarella yesterday
  • bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan

Make a roux with the butter and flour. I’ve been practicing letting my roux go a little past what I consider blonde lately. Then I whisked in the milk and cream. Yeah, it was decadent, but I’ve been craving comfort food. When the white sauce came to a boil (which I should have caught, but I was steaming cauliflower and not watching closely) I added salt, pepper and the bloomed mustard powder. The I took the sauce off the heat and added the mozzarella and the cheddar and about 2 tbsp of the grated parmesan.

When the cauliflower was steamed, I mixed it with the cheese sauce, then topped it with bread crumbs, grated parmesan and a few pats of butter.

I baked it for about 20 minutes at 350 with the convection fan on.

It was pretty good. The overall dish was under seasoned. The sauce itself was yummy, but the cauliflower was unseasoned (oops, but see the bit about nearly letting the cream sauce boil over) so the overall dish needed a lot more salt. That was pretty easily fixed at the table, but still it definitely needed more seasoning.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

