Vaguely italian style soup

It’s been warm and dry here in Northern California. This makes me sad not just because we’re in a major drought that’s going to affect multiple California industries but also because it means I have no incentive or desire to cook winter food. Tonight, I decide I’m going to cook winter food even if the weather isn’t going to cooperate. Enter the random bean, greens and sausage soup.

First I took 2 pork, basil and garlic sausages from Whole Foods, pulled them out of their skins and rolled them into little meatballs. Then I browned them in one of our dutch ovens. While they were browning, I chopped a cup of carrots, one celery stick and a leek. When the sausage was brown (and there was nice fond on the pot) I pulled it out and set it aside. I added the veggies, and a little dry vermouth to deglaze the pan. Once stuff was cooking, I added 3 garlic cloves.

When the veggies were translucent, I added 1.5 quarts of chicken stock, greens from 2 beets, a can of drained and rinsed Cannellini beans and the sausage. I also added half a dried arbol chile. I cooked for an hour or so, added a lot of pepper and some salt. About 30 minutes before serving I added a bit of parmesan rind (I should have added it earlier, but I forgot).

I served with some toasted bread, rubbed with garlic and dressed with olive oil and salt.

Om. Nom. Nom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

