I made magic

It’s finally raining here in California. I’ve been making comfort food.

Today was chili. I just tasted it and it’s amazing.

Ingredients were pretty simple.
1 pound of fresh chorizo. 2 1/2 pounds of beef chuck cut into small cubes. 1 1/2 onions chopped. 3 poblano peppers, roasted and peeled. Lots of fresh garlic, some cumin, chili powder, Mexican oregano, ancho chili powder and salt. A small can of tomato paste, a large can of pureed tomatoes, a large can of fire roasted tomatoes and some flat winterbock.

I fried the chorizo and pulled it from the pan. Then I browned the beef in the chorizo fat, and pulled that from the pan. Then I added a bit of oil, the chopped onion and garlic. I sautéed the onion until it was translucent then added the chopped roasted peppers.

I pulled the veggies from the pan, then added a little more oil and caramelized the tomato paste. When the tomato paste was fragrant, I added the spices and let them cook in the tomatoes. I added a cup or two of beer to loosen the paste and hydrate the spices.

All of the meat and veggies went back into the pan, with the two cans of tomatoes and enough beer too make it look “right.”

I cooked it for 2 hours or so.

I plan on serving it it with tomatillo salsa verde, guacamole, corn chips and grated cheese.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

